Thanksgiving Wishes

Posted: November 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

Sending Thanksgiving wishes to all.

(1) First and foremost, I am thankful that I am redeemed by a God of grace. It is by grace we have been saved and not by works, lest anyone should boast.  Thanks be to God for His salvation grace. That grace calls me to live in pursuit of His shalom and justice. Gratitude that God would allow us to in some small ways, be a reflection of His mercy and justice.

(2) I am thankful for my family.  My wife continues to be my most amazing inspiration and support.  She puts up with a lot from me.  My kids continue to provide an unbelievable amount of joy.  Their creativity, their joyful spirit, their indominatable spirit inspires me.

(3) I still struggle with what God is calling me towards. After having been a pastor for more than 15 years, there was a great sense of loss in transitioning to academic life.  I feel that God has called me to serve in the academy but to always keep connected to the life of the church.  I am thankful that God has called me to teach at a seminary and have become more certain that this is my calling.  However, I still feel the loss of the joys of being in full-time pastoral ministry.  But ultimately, I thank God that I would be called to anything at all.  That is gift by God’s grace alone.

Praying that you are enjoying Thanksgiving with loved ones and in God’s gracious presence.

Comments
  1. Marc Rivera says:

    Soong Chan:

    Just reaching out with a NYC greeting. I was reading through a NY Times article this morning on religion and found your name listed. Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

