Milestones and Tidbits

Posted: November 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

Today my wife and I celebrate our 13th Anniversary.  I am incredibly blessed by God’s gift to me that is my wife.  She has been a patient, kind, loving, and a fierce presence in my life.  Here’s to 13 wonderful years and many, many, many more years to come.

Please be in prayer for our seminary (North Park Theological Seminary) community as we have been reeling from a series of tragedies, including the death of one of our students and the serious illness of one of our faculty.  Both are in their early forties so it is a wake up call to our mortality no matter how young we may think we are.

On December 7th, Mike and Jud will be launching their new and improved website: The People of the Second Chance.  If you haven’t already, join their facebook page and prepare to join the online community.  Congratulations and best wishes for the relaunch of a worthwhile work.

Sometime this week, I’ll be starting as a guest blogger on “The Seeker” website for the Chicago Tribune.  I will be one of several voices from the Chicago religious community to speak on issues of faith and culture.

Over the weekend, I was mentioned in a New York Times article on the new activism of younger evangelicals.  I’m mentioned as part of the inspiration for a former Wheaton student (I’m assuming from my chapel sermons from four years ago) who’s active in serving the refugee community.  A bit bizarre being named in the same sentence as Thomas Aquinas, Mother Theresa and Jim Wallis.  But if it’s in the New York Times . . . 🙂

Comments
  1. gar says:

    Congrats on the anniversary, and congrats on the mention in the NY Times, Prof. Rah… wow!

    “What happened to both Wheaton and Jenna Liao tells much about the shifts in evangelical Christianity as a whole. Her Christian education exposed her to examples of religious idealism from St. Thomas Aquinas to Mother Teresa to the progressive evangelical ministers Jim Wallis and Soong-Chan Rah.”

  2. Dee Stewart says:

    Great Blog, Professor Rah and congrats on your anniversary. I stumbled upon your blog, while reading about the issues with Zondervan online. I featured a snippet of this post at my site.

    What We Can Learn from the Deadly Viper/Zondervan Debacle about Ethnicity & Religion

    Continue doing what you’re doing. I’m in your Amen Corner.

  3. dewde says:

    Happy Anniversary my friend!

    peace | dewde

  4. JP Paulus says:

    Congrats on the Seeker guest blogging…how did that come about?

Leave a Reply

